3 part yogic breath: meditation between abundance and stillness

Today at Sarvodaya's Early Morning meditation

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

3 part yogic breath: meditation between abundance and stillness

 

Dirgha, or three part yogic breath, is the basis for pranayam. The first portion initiates the body’s relaxation response, and the entire thing is an exercise in observation and transformation through attention. We start every class with this meditation and I’ve finally produced a recording I’m willing to share. It has audio issues, so don’t expect pro quality – it’s my first one! Let me know how you enjoy the content and I’ll continue to post as I become more comfortable and my equipment gets better. Comment below to let me know how this works for you.

 

 

3 thoughts on “3 part yogic breath: meditation between abundance and stillness

  1. Dear Christine – I was lucky enough to be sitting in bed in a quiet house reading your wonderful blog; so I had time to put my headphones on and do the breath meditation. It was just lovely, your voice is soothing and your words perfectly timed. Thank you!

  2. Sarafoley and Lora, THANK YOU so much! I actually woke up and almost took it down once last night… worries about the quality, my voice, the wording, the furnace coming on in the background (you know, the usual demons to invite to tea :)). Your comments quickly returned me to my center, where I’m okay with imperfection, with sharing the process and sharing from exactly where I am. I’m so pleased you found it useful and likable; More on the books for today!

Leave a Reply

