Home Practice: Timing

So, you’re starting a home practice. Bravo! Brava!

It’s like bringing home your lover, a bit. There’s so much to be excited about, so much you know could change, so much you want to know… But then there are these little practical puzzles that can become obstacles.

 I remember when I first started practicing from a book. It would say to hold a pose for a minute or three or a half. Well, particularly when you’re doing something new, your whole relationship to time changes. And the sensations can be so intense! And it’s so easy to forget what the teacher’s always there to remind: Come back to your breath.

 So here’s what I did, and it remains a touchstone, like a grownup version of a blanket. I timed my breathing. Turns out that I usually breathe 15 times (thats one in, one out = one time) a minute. It doesn’t change much. Unless I’m straining or really relaxed. So now, when I want to hold a pose or pace myself, or make sure I hold one side as long as another, I count my breaths. It has the wonderful side effect of awareness and calming. Try it!

And kudos to you for doing yoga at home, at work, at the park, on your break! Remember, yoga IS love, truth, beauty; here, now. Claim it!

3 thoughts on “Home Practice: Timing

  1. Hi! This is YogaGuide… just wanted to say thanks for visiting and to let you know that I’d love to hear from you. Was this helpful for you? What do you want to know more about? Remember, I’m your guide, so describe for me our destination and I’ll set a course!

  2. Hey, thank you for the great idea to time my breaths. It never occured to me. I’m always either stressed to watch the time or I just try to feel it out, but then I get insecure. I’ll try tomorrow first thing in the morning!

    Smiles,
    Yana

  3. Pingback: Yoga on my mind « tides and seasons of my secret life

Leave a Reply

