Memed again!

When I started blogging, I wondered what this meme thing was… I mean, a meme is a theme, etymologically related to memory… don’t all essays have themes and rely on memory? And then came Moonymaid  and I no longer wonder! 

It turns out memes can be pretty random and not essentially theme related lists of questions. Of course the human mind can retrospectively find thematic connection in most any collection of objects or responses, thus art.

So here’s my raw material.

The 18 Things Meme

1. What were you afraid of as a child?

Dying and disappointing .

2. When have you been most courageous? Hmmm. There is a line between courage and foolhardiness. I think truth telling – or truth living – is the most courageous human act. This was particularly hard for me when I was coming to terms with childhood horrors. Probably this more than anything else has shaped what I take courage to be.

3. What sound most disturbs you? Dogs barking while I’m trying to sleep. They don’t get out often, but I worry sick when they do, so every time I hear barking I’m sure it’s happened again and have to check…

4. What is the greatest amount of physical pain you’ve been in? It was probably when my appendix had been burst for two weeks my first semester of college when I was 18. But that was more than 20 years ago and the brain has lovely amnesiac properties when storing memories of pain, so I’m not sure.

On the principle that current pain always overshadows past, my upper thigh and butt really hurt right now. Suffice it to say I’ve found nothing helpful on google regarding “how to slow down while rollerblading downhill”. I have however found this video of someone who didn’t need to slow down – wow.

5. What’s your biggest fear for your children? That their childhood horrors would parallel mine. I hope theirs are things like darkness, non-specific boogeymen and latenight horror flicks.

6. What is the hardest physical challenge you’ve achieved?  Weightlifting. I could once bench 185 pounds and leg press 450. 

7. Which do you prefer: Mountains or oceans/big water? To live by? Mountains. But I could do without neither.

8. What is the one thing you do for yourself that helps you keep everything together? Why, yoga, of course!

9. Ever had a close relative or friend with cancer? Yes. I still miss her.

10. What are the things your friends count on you for? Hmmm… unexpected responses.

11. What is the best part of being in a committed relationship?  My husband.

12. What is the hardest part of being in a committed relationship? Me.

13. Winter  or Summer ? Why? Both. Like mountains and oceans, could do without neither. Like the extremes, like the activities of both. 

14. Have you ever been in a school-yard fight? Why and what happened?  Once. Some large, oafish boy made fun of my brothers for being twins, which didn’t make any senes to me because I thought it was cool but seemed to really bum them out. I’m not sure we were left to really much of a fight, but point made.

15. Why blog? Ahhh, the million word question. Writing helps make sense of things. Writing so that others can respond, while possessing overtones (or are they under~?) of voyeurism, also helps cement feelings of connectedness and humanity. There’s an accountability. The question is almost like, why have a conversation, or why have friends. Because our shared struggles, joys, meanings help us define what it is to be human.

16. Did you learn about sex, and/or sex safety from your parents? Yes. I had a four volume set of books which explained the anatomy in great detail (yes, I was born and bred a geek.) Catholic school had its share of influence (though I was never gullible enough to believe that sperm could survive in a swimming pool, thank you Sister Schriner.) 

17. How do you plan to talk to your kids about sex and/or sex safety? Kindly. When they bring it up.

18. What are you most thankful for this year? Most, that’s big. I’m Most Thankful for Uneventful holidays.

Leave a Reply

