Savasana is the hardest of all

Sometimes savasana is the last thing I want to do. I rarely miss asana in the morning, and like I was reading in Iyengar’s Light on Yoga this morning, I find meditation in the union of breath, body & mind. Even if it’s 10 or 20 minutes after walking the dogs & before donning the uniform, me & my mat meet and movement and meditation are one.

And there are some mornings, like this one, when, after my last downdog or urdva danurasana, I am tempted to grab my glass of tea and head for the door, beyond which errands, pagers, sirens, and dogs await, their calls silent but insistent in my mind.

And I manage a turn and a grab before…. I realize, I’m already ahead of myself. Not coinciding with myself. What is all this about if not that, that feeling of coinciding with my body, my idea of myself and my feeling of myself. Deep breath, back to the mat – back on the mat, looking up, eyes close, hands release. Lists. Notice the lists, ahhhhh…. slip instantaneously into the space between the lists and the noticing, bliss.

Sitting, breathing, “Oooooommmmmm….” My body absorbs and becomes the sound, as if thirsty. “Ommmmm….” So worth it, all for this.

Leave a Reply

